The Recycle Bin saves all the deleted items and allows restoring them. It supports the scenario of finding a deletion error and recovering the lost data.
Deleted items go to the Recycle Bin and can be restored if needed. Items are kept in the Recycle Bin for 45 days and then automatically deleted.
Each user can find and restore the items he deleted. A super-user can find and restore items anyone has deleted. This super-user capability is useful in cases where someone deleted an item by mistake but is not available to restore it if needed.
The Recycle Bin supports the following entities: Work Items (Projects, Milestones and Tasks), all the Issue entity types, Expense Sheets and individual Expense Records, Documents and Collaboration Items, Customers and their Contact People, Templates, Shortcuts, Job Titles, Skills, User Groups and Custom Reports.
Note: Users cannot be deleted but only suspended. Custom Fields however, are supported in a separate Recycle Bin in the customization area, visible for Administrators.
In the Recycle Bin
When an item is deleted, it is shown as a read only line in the recycle bin. The grid shows lines for all the deleted items of all item types as a flat list.
Each line item contains all the sub items it had before the deletion. For example deleting a Project or Milestone moves all its sub tasks, collaboration items, timesheet hours and reference in issues to the Recycle bin. These will be visible again if the item is restored.
- You can select a single line item in the Recycle Bin at a time. You can then use the buttons Restore, Restore To and Permanent Delete to operate on the selected item.
Restore and Restore To options
- Restores the selected item to the location it was deleted from. If even that location was deleted afterwards, you can choose a new place to restore the item to.
- Restore To
- Opens a dialog box where you can chooses a new place or new parent for the restored item. A different dialog box opens per entity type, according the places its items can be restored to. Some entities have a Restore Detached option which allows restoring items to the top level, without a parent item.
- Deletes the item for good.
Deleted From Column
- Shows a shortened path with the place the item was deleted from. Hovering with the mouse above the Deleted From Column for any item will open a box that allows you to click Show Path. This will show the full path where the item was deleted from.
Several options are available for finding any item in the Recycle Bin:
- The Show drop down filter allows you to filter the items in the recycle bin according to item types.
- The Search box located in the right side of the toolbar allows searching for items containing any text of interest in the ID, Type and Name columns.
- Grid filter and sort
- Clicking the column headers opens a menu with options for filtering and sorting the line items according the values in that column.